Skip to content

Chapter 12 Questioning the Media

April 3, 2012

“What do you think of when you hear the term public relations? What images come to mind? Where did these impressions come from?”

Honestly, when I hear public relations, I immediately think that a company has done something to mess up and is now sending out an agent or just an employee to try to cover it up and make it all better. I instantly think about the whole joke that South Park made when the whole BP oil spill fiasco was still headline news. They showed hilarious commercials on the show that were trying to apologize for the whole thing. The funny part of the commercials on South Park is that instead of just saying they were sorry, it was the CEO of BP dealing with cure baby animals and doing nice things in public, there are also ones of him in awkward poses without a shirt on as if to sexually seduce the viewers while saying “we’re sorry” in very awkward tones. That may not be the best image that could come from the phrase public relations, but that’s what pops into my head.

The other images would be a little too explicit for my blog...

But why do I automatically assume that a company is in trouble when I see a public relations person on tv or in a commercial? I think it is simply because only when something bad happens, do I actually pay enough attention to the news as to see a PR person. That is really what it boils down to. I don’t ever see a PR person or representative unless something bad has happened with the company or if they are being sued or what not.

Up until this point, I will admit that I have been almost completely oblivious to PR influences outside of a negative situation. PR people do not only deal with problems and lawsuits, they deal with public relations period. commercials and billboards and even minute details of advertising that I would not even think related to PR, but it does because in and of itself, advertising is the most positive form of PR that is out there.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

